Asia Cup Cricket 2014

latest cricket

World T20, 2nd Semi-Final

India vs West Indies

at Mumbai, Mar 31, 2016
West Indies 196/3 beat India 192/2 by 7 wickets

Asia Cup Cricket 2014

Asia Cup Cricket 2014 in Bangladesh

Asia Cup 2014 LogoIndia, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Afghanistan and Bangladesh will take part in the 12th edition of the Asia Cup for cricket, which will be held in Bangladesh from 25 February to 8 March 2014. Afghanistan will be taking part for the first time.
Each side will play each other once in the group stages.
Asia Cup Cricket 2014

Asia Cup 2014 Round-robin stage

Points Table

Teams Mat Won Lost Tied N/R Pts Net RR
Sri Lanka 4 4 0 0 0 17 +0.773
Pakistan 4 3 1 0 0 13 +0.349
India 4 2 2 0 0 9 +0.450
Afghanistan 4 1 3 0 0 4 -1.278
Bangladesh 4 0 4 0 0 0 -0.259

Asia Cup 2014 Schedule

Date Match Venue
25 February
Pakistan vs Sri LankaKhan Shaheb Osman Ali Stadium
26 February
Bangladesh vs IndiaKhan Shaheb Osman Ali Stadium
27 February
Afghanistan vs PakistanKhan Shaheb Osman Ali Stadium
28 February
India vs Sri LankaKhan Shaheb Osman Ali Stadium
1 March
Bangladesh vs AfghanistanKhan Shaheb Osman Ali Stadium
2 March
India vs PakistanShere Bangla National Stadium
3 March
Afghanistan vs Sri LankaShere Bangla National Stadium
4 March
Bangladesh vs PakistanShere Bangla National Stadium
5 March
Afghanistan vs IndiaShere Bangla National Stadium
6 March
Bangladesh vs Sri LankaShere Bangla National Stadium
8 March
Finals: Sri Lanka vs PakistanShere Bangla National Stadium
Winners in BOLD.

Asia Cup Cricket 2014 Final

Sri Lanka win against Pakistan

Winning the toss and electing to bat at the Shere Bangla National Stadium in Mirpur, Pakistan were left reeling at 18/3 thanks to some superb bowling from Malinga. Misbah along with Alam brought them back in to the match with an outstanding partnership of 122 runs. Misbah scored 65 while Alam scored his maiden ODI hundred (114*) in the company of Akmal who made 59 to take Pakistan to 260/5.

Chasing 261, Kusal gave Sri Lanka a superb start with his knock of 42. Captain Mathews ensured that they won the match and Asia Cup after Thirimanne's innings of 101 ended. Pakistan made two changes with Sharjeel Khan and Junaid Khan coming in, while Ajantha Mendis was dropped by Sri Lanka.

Reported Earlier: Sri Lanka who remain unbeaten in the Asia Cup 2014 will face defending champions Pakistan in the final on Saturday. Sri Lanka had earlier beaten Pakistan in the league match by 12 runs. Chasing an impsoing 297 for victory, Pakistan were on course for a remarkable victory with skipper Misbah-ul-Haq scoring 73, before Malinga (5-52) coming up with a fiery spell to bowl out the Pakistan team for 284 in 48.5 overs. Both teams boast of destructive bowling attacks with Sri Lanka's Ajantha Mendis the tournament's joint leader with nine wickets and Pakistan's Saeed Ajmal in second place with eight.

Pakistan squad: Misbah-ul-Haq (Captain), Abdur Rehman, Ahmed Shehzad, Anwar Ali, Bilawal Bhatti, Fawad Alam, Junaid Khan, Mohammad Hafeez, Mohammad Talha, Saeed Ajmal, Shahid Afridi, Sharjeel Khan, Sohaib Maqsood, Umar Akmal (Wicket Keeper), Umar Gul
Sri Lanka squad: Angelo Mathews (Captain), Dinesh Chandimal (Vice Captain),Lasith Malinga, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Kusal Perera, Kumar Sangakkara(Wicket Keeper), Mahela Jayawardena, Lahiru Thirimanne, Thisara Perera, Nuwan Kulasekara, Suranga Lakmal, Chaturanga De Silva, Sachithra Senanayake, Ajantha Mendis, Ashan Priyanjan
Asia Cup Final: Sri Lanka 261/5 (Thirimanne 101, Jayawardene 75) beat Pakistan 260/5 (Fawad Alam 114*, Malinga 5-56) by 5 wickets

Injury rules MS Dhoni out of Asia Cup

Virat Kohli to lead India

Indian skipper MS Dhoni has been ruled out of the 2014 Asia Cup to be played in Bangladesh, due to a side strain. Virat Kohli will lead the side in his absence, while Dinesh Karthik will be the wicketkeeper.

India Asia Cup Squad: Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli (Captain), Cheteshwar Pujara, Ambati Rayudu, Ajinkya Rahane, Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohammed Shami, Varun Aaron, Stuart Binny, Amit Mishra, Ishwar Pandey, Dinesh Karthik (Wicketkeeper)

Ishant Sharma dropped from Asia Cup

Cheteshwar Pujara replaces Suresh Raina

Pacer Ishant Sharma was axed from both the Asia Cup and World T20 teams, while struggling left-handed batsman Suresh Raina who has a solitary 50 in his last 24 innings was dropped from the Asia Cup, but retained for the World T20. Cheteshwar Pujara will replace him in Bangladesh. Opener Gautam Gambhir and veteran off-spinner Harbhajan Singh, who were picked in the Rest of India for Irani Trophy, were not named in the ODI squad. Dhoni is the lone specialist wicket-keeper while the selectors have stuck to the opening combination of Shikhar Dhawan and Rohit Sharma.

India Asia Cup Squad: Mahendra Singh Dhoni (Captain & Wicketkeeper), Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ambati Rayudu, Ajinkya Rahane, Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohammed Shami, Varun Aaron, Stuart Binny, Amit Mishra, Ishwar Pandey

Past Asia Cup Finals

Asia Cup Cricket 2012 News

Pakistan pull off a two run victory against Bangladesh in a thriller Final to take Asia Cup

Bangladesh needed 4 runs from the last ball to take their first Asia Cup, but were only able to score 2 runs. Bangladesh, who won the toss and elected to field were able to restrict Pakistan to 239/9 in 50 ov. Abdul Razzak took 2 wickets conceding only 26 runs and his 10 over spell included 3 maidens.
Asia Cup Final: Pakistan 236/9 in 50 ov beat Bangladesh 234/8 in 50 ov by 2 runs

Asia Cup Cricket 2010 News

India beat Sri Lanka, regain Asia Cup‎

Zaheer Khan (2-36) and Ashish Nehra (4-40) bowled India to a resounding 81-run win over Sri Lanka in the finals, breaking a 15-year jinx in the Asia Cup.Indian batsmen made a fighting 268/6 and in reply, Sri Lanka could only manage 187 in 44.4 overs. The win earned India its fifth Asia Cup title in the 10th edition of the tournament - they had won four titles in the 1980s and '90s.
Asia Cup Finals - IND vs SRL, ODI, Dambulla: India 268/6 (Karthik 66) beat Sri Lanka 187 (Kapugedera 55*, Nehra 4-40) by 81 runs

Asia Cup Cricket 2008 News

Sri Lanka beat India by 100 runs in Asia Cup final

Ajantha Mendis broke India's back with a mesmerising six-wicket haul as Sri Lanka won the Asia Cup cricket tournament with a facile 100-run victory at Karachi. Chasing 274, India's much-vaunted batting attack was bamboozled by Mendis' bag of tricks and the mystery spinner emerged as the wrecker-in-chief to bundle out India for 173 in just 39.3 overs.
Asia Cup Finals: Sri Lanka 273 all out (49.5 overs) beat India 173 all out (39.3 overs) by 100 runs

Editor: Nishanth Gopinathan.