Afro Asia Cup 2007

latest cricket

World T20, 2nd Semi-Final

India vs West Indies

at Mumbai, Mar 31, 2016
West Indies 196/3 beat India 192/2 by 7 wickets

Afro Asia Cup 2007

First Match Asia XI vs Africa XI at Bangalore

Africa XI lose to Asia XI despite Pollock's maiden ton

Shaun Pollock slammed his maiden hundred in One-Day Internationals but could not prevent Asia XI crush Africa XI by 34 runs in the opening tie of the Afro-Asia Cup three-match cricket series at the Chinnaswamy Stadium here on Wednesday.
The 33-year-old veteran, playing the three-match series as a batsman, made it a memorable 285th individual tie when he made a superb 130, in 110 balls with 19 fours and a six, before being getting out as the last man. Africa, replying to Asia XI's imposing total of 317 for 9, were all out for 283 in 47.5 overs to give the latter a 1-0 lead ahead of the last two ties in Chennai on June 9 and 10.
Earlier, Asia XI batted right down the order without any batsman reaching the 70s to post a huge 317 for nine wickets after choosing to bat first, riding mainly on half centuries by captain Mahela Jayawardene (65) and Mohammed Yousuf (66).
Asia XI 317 for 9 (50.0 overs) beat Africa XI 283 all out (47.5 overs) by 34 runs

Asia XI hold edge in first ODI against Africa XI

It may be short of some big names, but the first One-day International in the Afro-Asia Cup between combined continental cricket teams promises fireworks aplenty here at the Chinnaswamy Stadium on Wednesday
The pullout of some leading lights from both teams weakened Africa more than the host continent who seem to have a clear edge in the best-of-three matches, the last two coming up on June 9 and 10 at Chennais M A Chidambaram Stadium. The explosive batting combination of Sanath Jayasuriya, Sourav Ganguly, Virender Sehwag and Mahendra Singh Dhoni would be hard to stop by an African bowling line-up missing Andre Nel, Andrew Hall, Jacques Kallis and Shaun Pollock (to play only as a batsman). The match also provides opportunity to former India skipper Ganguly to showcase his worth in the 50-over format after he was rested for the preceding one-day series in Bangladesh along with man he replaced him in the Asia XI - Sachin Tendulkar Sachin Tendulkar's Site.
Yuvraj Singh and Pakistans Mohammad Yousuf are available to shore up the middle order along with captain Mahela Jayawardene and wicket-keeper Dhoni.
Asias new-ball attack also looks potent in the hands of Zaheer Khan, Dilhara Fernando, Mashrafe Mortaza and Mohammad Asif, who will be seen in action after a lengthy gap after missing the World Cup due to injury. The Asians come into series after some matches between themselves but the African combine faces a bigger problem on this count as none have played any competitive matches after the World Cup. The players also arrived late on Monday night, which gives them very little time to adjust to the hot conditions.
The Africans are led by Justin Kemp in the absence of injured captain Graeme Smith who is recovering from a knee operation, and look weak in both batting and bowling. Fast bowler Makhaya Ntini opted out to be with with his wife, who recently delivered a baby. The pitch was re-laid with a mixture of clay and fine sand and will take time to bind and a virgin pitch is always an unknown factor. The toss could thus play vital role. Asia squad : Sanath Jayasuriya, Virender Sehwag, Upul Tharanga, Mahela Jayawardene (Captain), Sourav Ganguly, Mohammad Yousuf, Yuvraj Singh, Mahendra Singh Dhoni (Wicket Keeper), Harbhajan Singh, Zaheer Khan, Dilhara Fernando, Mashrafe Mortaza, Mohammad Rafique, Mohammad Asif.
Africa squad: AB de Villiers, Loots Bosman, Justin Kemp (Captain), Johan Botha, Shaun Pollock, Mark Boucher, Boeta Dippenaar, Albie Morkel, Morne Morkel, Steve Tikolo, Thomas Odoyo, Elton Chigumbura, Vusi Sibanda, Peter Ongondo.

Afro Asia Cup 2007

First Match Asia XI vs Africa XI at Bangalore


Asia XI won the toss and decided to bat
317 for 9 (50.0 overs)
283 all out (47.5 overs)

Asia XI Innings
S T Jayasuriya c A B de Villiers b M Morkel
18 3 0
V Sehwag
b E Chigumbura
42 7 1
S C Ganguly
b M Morkel
29 7 0
D P M D Jayawardene c S M Pollock b S O Tikolo
62 7 1
Mohammad Yousuf c A B de Villiers b J A Morkel
74 5 0
Yuvraj Singh c J M Kemp b M Morkel
30 3 0
M S Dhoni run out
4 0 0
Harbhajan Singh c S M Pollock b E Chigumbura
22 1 1
Mashrafe Mortaza c A B de Villiers b J A Morkel
16 0 0
Z Khan not out
5 1 0
2nb 16w 2b 3lb 23
for 9 317 (50.0 ovs)

M Morkel 10.0 1 68 3
T M Odoyo 10.0 0 52 0
E Chigumbura 9.0 0 56 2
J A Morkel 10.0 0 64 2
S O Tikolo 8.0 0 49 1
J M Kemp 3.0 0 23 0
Fall of wicket
36 S T Jayasuriya
104 V Sehwag
126 S C Ganguly
220 D P M D Jayawardene
274 Mohammad Yousuf
276 Yuvraj Singh
279 M S Dhoni
307 Harbhajan Singh
317 Mashrafe Mortaza

Africa XI Innings
A B de Villiers
b Mohammad Asif
2 1 0
L L Bosman c D P M D Jayawardene b Z Khan
12 0 0
H H Dippenaar
b Z Khan
13 2 0
S O Tikolo hit wicket b Mohammad Asif
19 0 0
J M Kemp
b Mohammad Asif
8 1 0
M V Boucher
b S T Jayasuriya
30 4 0
S M Pollock c Mohammad Yousuf b Mashrafe Mortaza
110 19 1
J A Morkel c M S Dhoni b S T Jayasuriya
11 1 0
E Chigumbura c Mohammad Yousuf b S T Jayasuriya
37 5 1
T M Odoyo c sub b Harbhajan Singh
35 4 1
M Morkel not out
12 1 0
2nb 2w 1b 5lb 10
all out 283 (47.5 ovs)

Mohammad Asif 10.0 0 57 3
Z Khan 9.0 2 43 2
Mashrafe Mortaza 6.5 0 57 1
Harbhajan Singh 10.0 0 53 1
S T Jayasuriya 10.0 0 53 3
Yuvraj Singh 2.0 0 14 0
Fall of wicket
4 A B de Villiers
15 H H Dippenaar
18 L L Bosman
26 S O Tikolo
31 J M Kemp
77 M V Boucher
87 J A Morkel
154 E Chigumbura
257 T M Odoyo
283 S M Pollock

Umpires: A L Hill, P D Parker
Asia XI: S T Jayasuriya, V Sehwag, D P M D Jayawardene, S C Ganguly, Mohammad Yousuf, M S Dhoni, Yuvraj Singh, Harbhajan Singh, Mashrafe Mortaza, Z Khan, Mohammad Asif
Africa XI: A B de Villiers, M V Boucher, E Chigumbura, H H Dippenaar, S O Tikolo, L L Bosman, S M Pollock, J M Kemp, J A Morkel, T M Odoyo, M Morkel

Cricket Series News 2007

India in Bangladesh Cricket Series 2007

Afro Asian Cup 2007

Twenty20 World Championships 2007 in South Africa

ICC Women's Quadrangular Series in India 2007

Sri Lanka in India ODI Cricket Series 2006-07

Chappell-Hadlee Trophy 2007 in New Zealand

West Indies in India ODI Cricket Series 2006-07

Commonwealth Bank Cricket Series 2006-07

Pakistan in South Africa Cricket Series 2007

India South Africa Cricket Series 2006-07    Read Related

The Ashes Cricket Series 2006 - 07    Read Related

Women's Asia Cup Cricket Series 2006-07

Sri Lanka vs New Zealand Cricket Series 2006-07

Editor: Nishanth Gopinathan.