Kolkata Knight Riders Professional Twenty20 League Teams

latest cricket

World T20, 2nd Semi-Final

India vs West Indies

at Mumbai, Mar 31, 2016
West Indies 196/3 beat India 192/2 by 7 wickets

Professional Twenty20 League Teams

Indian Premier League - IPL

Kolkata Knight Riders

Sourav Ganguly Kolkata Knight Riders is the franchise representing Kolkata in the Indian Premier League. The team will be led by Sourav Ganguly, also the Icon Player for the team and coached by John Buchanan. The name of the team was revealed on March 10, 2008 with an official team unveiling ceremony on March 11, 2008. [1] The official theme of the team is Korbo, Lorbo, Jitbo Re (We will do it, Fight for it, Win it) and the official colours are black and gold.

Franchise History

Kolkata Knight Riders is a franchise of the eight team Indian Premier League. It was bought on January 24, 2008 by Bollywood actor Shah Rukh Khan's Red Chillies Entertainment in partnership with Juhi Chawla and her husband, Jai Mehta.


The logo of the team consist of a blazing golden viking helmet against a black background with the name of the team Kolkata Knight Riders written in gold. The main theme of the team Korbo, Lorbo, Jitbo Re (We will do it, Fight for it, Win it) has been created by Vishal-Shekhar duo. A Knight Rider album with several singers and music composers including Usha Uthup and Bappi Lahiri will also be created. The tag line of the team is All the King's Men. The team's official colour is black and gold. Black stands for the courage of Maa Kali and gold stands for the spirit of winning. The jersey was created by Bollywood fashion designer Manish Malhotra. The team also has a mascot named Hoog Lee, who is a lazy Royal Bengal Tiger and loves to eat burgers. The name was chosen after lot of research. The name Knight Riders has been chosen keeping in view of the kids and the youth., and is a obvious reference to the famous television show.

Kolkata Knight Riders Players

Sourav Ganguly, the former captain of the Indian cricket team is the icon player and will lead the Kolkata franchise. Also in the team is allrounder Chris Gayle and wicket keeper batsman Brendon McCullum. The most successful captain in world cricket Ricky Ponting follows suit with a bowling attack including Shoaib Akhtar, Ishant Sharma, Umar Gul. Others include Ajit Agarkar, Murali Karthik and David Hussey. Kolkata Knight Riders Team
David Hussey, Ricky Ponting, Salman Butt, Akash Chopra, Cheteshwar Pujara, Rohan Banerjee, Yashpal Singh, Debabrata Das, Sourav Ganguly (Captain), Tatenda Taibu, Wriddhiman Saha, Brendon McCullum,♠ Chris Gayle, Ajit Agarkar, Mohammad Hafeez, Iqbal Abdulla, Laxmi Ratan Shukla, Ishant Sharma, Shoaib Akhtar, Murali Kartik, Umar Gul, Siddarth Kaul, Ranadeb Bose, Sourashish Lahiri

Editor: Nishanth Gopinathan.