Mumbai Indians Professional Twenty20 League Teams

latest cricket

World T20, 2nd Semi-Final

India vs West Indies

at Mumbai, Mar 31, 2016
West Indies 196/3 beat India 192/2 by 7 wickets

Professional Twenty20 League Teams

Indian Premier League - IPL

Mumbai Indians

Sachin Tendulkar Mumbai Indians is the team that will represent of the city of Mumbai in the Indian Premier League. The team will be led by Sachin Tendulkar, also the Icon Player for the team and coached by Lalchand Rajput, the former Manager of the Indian Cricket Team.

Franchise History

Reliance Industries Limited through its subsidiary Reliance Retail Ltd purchased the rights for the Mumbai franchise of Indian Premier league for a total of $111.9 million during the auction on January 24, 2008. The RIL bid has made the Mumbai Indians the most expensive franchise in IPL


The team logo has the Sudarshan Chakra with the team's name engraved in it. The team's colour will be blue. The mascot is still unknown.

Mumbai Indians Players

Sachin Tendulkar is the designated icon player and also captain for Mumbai Indians. During the player auction Mumbai Indians successfully bid for 7 players, including two of the heroes of Indian Twenty-20 world cup side in Harbhajan Singh and Robin Uthappa. Sanath Jayasuriya was also another prized catch, along with South African legend Shaun Pollock. The team also added the Sri Lankan speedster Lasith Malinga. Outside of the player auction, the franchise has also signed up Ajinkya Rahane and Abhishek Nayar (from Mumbai), Yogesh Takawale (WK-Batsman from Maharashtra) and Pinal Shah (WK-Batsman from Baroda). Saurabh Tiwary and Manish Pandey, the stars of the U-19 world-cup winning team were the random picks drafted in during the BCCI held second auction. Delhi's Ashish Nehra and Western Autralia's dashing wicketkeeper-batsman Luke Ronchi are two invaluable assets added to the Mumbai Indian outfit. Mumbai Indians Team
Sachin Tendulkar(Captain), â™ Sanath Jayasuriy, Robin Uthappa, Loots Bosman, Ashwell Prince, Ajinkya Rahane, Manish Pandey, Saurabh Tiwary, Luke Ronchi, Yogesh Takawale, Pinal Shah, Shaun Pollock, Abhishek Nayar, Harbhajan Singh, Lasith Malinga, Dilhara Fernando, Ashish Nehra,

Editor: Nishanth Gopinathan.