Southern Redbacks Professional Twenty20 League Teams

latest cricket

World T20, 2nd Semi-Final

India vs West Indies

at Mumbai, Mar 31, 2016
West Indies 196/3 beat India 192/2 by 7 wickets

Professional Twenty20 League Teams

KFC Twenty20 Big Bash

Southern Redbacks

The Southern Redbacks are an Australian first class cricket team based in Adelaide, South Australia. It competes in the first class competition the Sheffield Shield, the limited overs Ford Ranger Cup and the Twenty20 tournament known as the KFC Twenty20 Big Bash. The team's home ground and main training venue is the Adelaide Oval. Their One-Day match uniform's dominant colour is red similar to Zimbabwe. The current One Day match uniform features a red body with black sleeves and manufacturer adidas' trademark three-stripe design on the sides. Currently the Redbacks have not won any competition since the 1995/1996 season.

Southern Redbacks History

The earliest known First-class match played by South Australia took place against Tasmania on the Adelaide Oval in November 1877. In 1892/93 they joined New South Wales and Victoria and played the inaugural Sheffield Shield season. South Australia won the Shield in just their second attempt. They have won the competition 13 times in total while they have twice won the One Day tournament now known as the Ford Ranger Cup.
Over the years many successful international cricketers have played for South Australia. Clarrie Grimmett played with them during the 1920s and 30s, taking a total of 668 wickets which remains a state record. In 1934 Donald Bradman joined the club after originally playing with New South Wales, and started with scores of 117, 233 and 357 in his first three innings. Others include the Chappell brothers, David Hookes and Terry Jenner.
South Australia have also imported cricketers to play for them, the most famous being Gary Sobers who appeared in three seasons during the early 1960s and Barry Richards. Richards played just one season with South Australia but managed to set a state record for most runs in a season, making 1538 runs in 1970/71.

Previous performance

Sheffield Shield/Pura Cup
1893-94,1909-10, 1912-13, 1926-27, 1935-36, 1938-39, 1952-53, 1963-64, 1968-69, 1970-71, 1975-76, 1981-82, 1995-96 One Day Cups
1983-84, 1986-87

Editor: Nishanth Gopinathan.