Tasmanian Tigers Professional Twenty20 League Teams

latest cricket

World T20, 2nd Semi-Final

India vs West Indies

at Mumbai, Mar 31, 2016
West Indies 196/3 beat India 192/2 by 7 wickets

Professional Twenty20 League Teams

KFC Twenty20 Big Bash

Tasmanian Tigers

The Tasmanian Tigers are the official first-class cricket team of Tasmania, Australia. They play in domestic one-day, 4-day and Twenty20 competitions. Their home ground is Bellerive Oval on Hobart's Eastern Shore, though matches are occasionally played at venues in Devonport and Launceston.
They have won the domestic one day competition (currently named the Ford Ranger Cup) three times, in 1978-79, 2004-05 and 2007-08. They have also been runners-up twice, in 1977-78 and 1986-87.
The Tigers won their first Sheffield Shield in the 2006-07 season, after almost 30 years in the competition. They had been runner-up three times, in 1993-94, 1997-98, and 2001-02.
The Tigers also compete in the domestic Twenty20 competition known as the KFC Twenty20 Big Bash, and were runners-up in 2006-07.

Tasmanian Tigers History

Cricket almost certainly has been played in Tasmania since the time of European settlement in 1803. However the first, first class cricket match played in Tasmania, which was also the first ever first class cricket match in Australia, was played in 1851 between Victoria and Tasmania in Launceston. It was a timeless match, but only lasted for two days. Tasmania emerged victorious by 3 wickets.
Since that time, Tasmanian representative sides normally had to content themselves with matches against touring International sides during stop-overs whilst travelling by ship to mainland capitals, and the odd first class game against mainland state sides, usually one per season. The quality of cricket in Tasmania varied from time to time, but particularly in the post war period enjoyed a high period. This prompted moves to be made by the Tasmanian Cricket Association for further matches and recognition. A Famous victory against the Indian tourists in 1977 helped the TCA convince mainland cricket authorities Tasmanian cricket was of a nationally competitive level. The Tasmanian Cricket Association first made a bid to join the Sheffield Shield in 1964, but was rejected. Despite this, Tasmania was granted full status into the domestic one day competition upon its establishment in 1969. The Tasmanian team was finally admitted to the Sheffield Shield by the Australian Cricket Board in 1977 on a two year trial basis, although they played a reduced roster in comparisons to the other states. Tasmanias points on the ladder were x5 and /9 due to the fact they only played each other state once (instead of twice) during the season.
Victory came in the 1978-79 Gillette Cup domestic one day competition, and within a fortnight Tasmania had won their first ever Shield match, beating Western Australia by 4 wickets in Devonport, showing Tasmania was capable of competing amongst the nation's best. Initially the side struggled for success and consistency and were the competitions whipping-boys throughout the 1980s. The rise of local hero, David Boon to international fame, showed the country, and the world, that Tasmanian cricket was here to stay. Despite this, the Tasmanian side struggled to win matches throughout the 1980s and early 1990s. Regardless of the lack of competitive success, this period did have one exceptionally bright point for the state, as Tasmania unearthed a rare talent in Ricky Ponting who would go on to become one of the world's best batsmen.
A reshuffle in the administration and organisation of the TCA in 1991 did not have an immdeiate effect, but the mid 1990s brought a more professional approach, and the state's side rebranded as the Tasmanian Tigers, and with a new headquarters in the renovated Bellerive Oval, the state finally started to achieve more regular success. The side surged to the final for the first time in 1993-94, only to lose to New South Wales, but showed they were capable of successes at first class level. The 1997-98 season saw the Tiger's qualify for the final off the back off a remarkable six straight victories, and they were desperately unlucky not to win the competition after such dominance. In the late 1990s Tasmania continued to produce top level cricketers. Players such as Jamie Cox, Dene Hills, Shaun Young and Michael Di Venuto became stars of the state side, and can all be considered unlucky not to have found a place in the Australian side.
The Tigers continue to remain competitive in all forms of the Australian domestic game, and in 2006-07 were successful in claiming their first ever Sheffield Shield title. The Tigers have also qualified for the final on three occasions in 1993-94, 1997-98, and 2001-02, but at the time were unable to win the title. The Tigers have fared better in the Ford Ranger Cup, wining it three times in 1978-79, 2004-05 and 2007-08. They have also been runners-up twice in 1977-78, and 1986-87. The Tigers were also unlucky to finish as runners-up in the second season of the Australian domestic Twenty20 KFC Twenty20 Big Bash competition in 2006-07.

Previous performance

Sheffield Shield/Pura Cup Champions:
2006-07 Sheffield Shield/Pura Cup Runner-up (since introduction of final in 1982-83):
1993-94, 1997-98, 2001-02 Domestic One-Day Cup Champions:
1978-79, 2004-05, 2007-08 Domestic One-Day Cup Runner-up:
1977-78, 1986-87 Domestic Twenty20 Cup Runner-up:

Editor: Nishanth Gopinathan.