Afro Asia Cup 2007

latest cricket

World T20, 2nd Semi-Final

India vs West Indies

at Mumbai, Mar 31, 2016
West Indies 196/3 beat India 192/2 by 7 wickets

Afro Asia Cup 2007

Second match Asia XI vs Africa XI at Chennai

Second ODI, Asian XI (2:0): Asia XI beat Africa XI by 32 runs and clinch the series

Asia XI beat Africa XI by 31 runs in the second one-dayer at Chennai on Saturday to clinch the three-match Afro-Asia Cup series 2-0.
Chasing 338, Africa XI was bowled out for 306 in 49.5 overs against Asia XI. A solid batting effort swept Asia to 337 and barring two good fifties from Boeta Dippenaar and Mark Boucher the Africa XI failed to impress. Dilhara Fernando picked up a career-best 4 for 36 to lead the bowling honours.
After Asia XI posted a mighty total, Mohammad Asif did the damage early as he removed Africa XI opener AB De Villiers for just 13 runs to give his side an early advantage. Thereafter, Vusi Sibanda and Boeta Dippenaar got together to bring the chase back on track with a 60-run stand for the second wicket. Just when duo seemed to have settled down, Fernando struck to remove Sibanda and Justen Kemp in quick succession to push the visitors on the backfoot. Sibanda made a quick 35 off 39 deliveries while Kemp was not allowed to open his account. The back to back dismissals brought Mark Boucher to the crease. The two South African batsmen then joined did the rescue work and Dippenaar hit a well paced half century to keep Africa XI well on track.
Sourav Ganguly topscored with 88 to help Asia XI post an imposing 337 for seven in 50 overs. Openers Virender Sehwag and Sanath Jayasuriya put up a 37-run opening partnership before Thomas Odoyo struck to remove the latter and give Africa XI a welcome breakthrough.
It was a tame dismissal as the veteran mistimed a drive straight into the hands of Dippneaar mid-off for 11 runs. Thereafter, Sehwag partnered Sourav Ganguly to put up a fifty run partnership for the second wicket. The Delhi right-hander scored a half century before falling to Elton Chigumbura on the very next delivery for 52 runs. Thereafter, Ganguly and MS Dhoni led the Asian onslaught, Dhoni in particular was the more aggressive of the two as he smashed two boundaries and equal number of sixes during his stay at the crease.
The duo put up a 57-run stand for the third wicket before the Albie Morkel uprooted the swashbuckler for 33 runs, which came off just 38 deliveries. A poor call for run from Ganguly resulted in an untimely end of a promising knock by Mahela Jayawardene's as he was send back for well made 45 off just 40 deliveries. The Asian team made two changes by bringing in Dilhara Fernando and Mohammad Rafique in place of Harbhajan Singh and Mashrafe Mortaza.
The Africans replaced Loots Bosman and Steve Tikolo with Vusimusi Sibanda and Johan Botha. Despite a brilliant hundred by Shaun Pollock, the Asians took the first ODI in Bangalore and need a win here to wrap up the series. The pitch is, according to the captains, devoid of grass and another run-fest is expected.
Asia XI 337 for 7 (50.0 overs) beat Africa XI 306 all out (49.5 overs) by 32 runs

Afro Asia Cup 2007

Second match Asia XI vs Africa XI at Chennai


Asia XI won the toss and decided to bat
337 for 7 (50.0 overs)
306 all out (49.5 overs)

Asia XI Innings
V Sehwag c M Morkel b E Chigumbura
38 8 1
S T Jayasuriya c H H Dippenaar b T M Odoyo
16 2 0
S C Ganguly c sub b E Chigumbura
112 9 1
M S Dhoni
b J A Morkel
38 2 2
D P M D Jayawardene run out
40 4 1
Mohammad Yousuf c M V Boucher b M Morkel
44 3 2
Yuvraj Singh not out
13 3 2
Mohammad Rafique c A B de Villiers b M Morkel
3 0 0
Z Khan not out
0 0 0
4nb 14w 8lb 26
for 7 337 (50.0 ovs)

J A Morkel 6.0 0 49 1
M Morkel 10.0 1 48 2
T M Odoyo 8.0 0 60 1
E Chigumbura 10.0 0 84 2
J Botha 10.0 1 51 0
V Sibanda 6.0 1 37 0
Fall of wicket
37 S T Jayasuriya
77 V Sehwag
134 M S Dhoni
214 D P M D Jayawardene
298 S C Ganguly
331 Mohammad Yousuf
333 Mohammad Rafique

Africa XI Innings
A B de Villiers c M S Dhoni b Mohammad Asif
10 1 0
V Sibanda c M S Dhoni b C R D Fernando
39 4 0
H H Dippenaar c sub b Yuvraj Singh
72 9 0
J M Kemp
b C R D Fernando
2 0 0
M V Boucher c Mohammad Asif b C R D Fernando
71 4 2
S M Pollock c Mohammad Asif b V Sehwag
39 4 0
J A Morkel c S C Ganguly b Mohammad Rafique
19 1 0
E Chigumbura c sub b Mohammad Rafique
4 1 0
J Botha
b C R D Fernando
8 0 1
T M Odoyo not out
15 0 1
M Morkel
b Mohammad Asif
21 4 0
1nb 8w 4lb 13
all out 306 (49.5 ovs)

Mohammad Asif 9.5 0 82 2
Z Khan 2.4 0 9 0
D P M D Jayawardene 2.2 0 19 0
C R D Fernando 10.0 0 36 4
Mohammad Rafique 10.0 0 62 2
Yuvraj Singh 7.0 0 43 1
S C Ganguly 3.0 0 14 0
V Sehwag 5.0 0 37 1
Fall of wicket
20 A B de Villiers
80 V Sibanda
80 J M Kemp
159 H H Dippenaar
217 M V Boucher
234 S M Pollock
247 E Chigumbura
263 J A Morkel
263 J Botha
306 M Morkel

Umpires: A L Hill, P D Parker
Asia XI: S T Jayasuriya, V Sehwag, S C Ganguly, D P M D Jayawardene, Mohammad Yousuf, Yuvraj Singh, M S Dhoni, Mohammad Rafique, Z Khan, Mohammad Asif, C R D Fernando
Africa XI: A B de Villiers, V Sibanda, H H Dippenaar, J M Kemp, M V Boucher, T M Odoyo, S M Pollock, J A Morkel, M Morkel, E Chigumbura, J Botha

Cricket Series News 2007

India in Bangladesh Cricket Series 2007

Afro Asian Cup 2007

Twenty20 World Championships 2007 in South Africa

ICC Women's Quadrangular Series in India 2007

Sri Lanka in India ODI Cricket Series 2006-07

Chappell-Hadlee Trophy 2007 in New Zealand

West Indies in India ODI Cricket Series 2006-07

Commonwealth Bank Cricket Series 2006-07

Pakistan in South Africa Cricket Series 2007

India South Africa Cricket Series 2006-07    Read Related

The Ashes Cricket Series 2006 - 07    Read Related

Women's Asia Cup Cricket Series 2006-07

Sri Lanka vs New Zealand Cricket Series 2006-07

Editor: Nishanth Gopinathan.