Ahmedabad Rockets v Chandigarh Lions

latest cricket

World T20, 2nd Semi-Final

India vs West Indies

at Mumbai, Mar 31, 2016
West Indies 196/3 beat India 192/2 by 7 wickets

Indian Cricket League - ICL 2007 Latest News

The first news and information website on Indian Cricket League
The ICL (India) is a private cricket league that runs parallel to the existing cricket league managed by Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI). The format of ICL is Twenty20.This website, http://www.cricketcircle.com/indian-cricket-league/, (Created on: 03-Apr-2007) is in no way affiliated with or is the property of Zee's ICL (India) or Indian Cricket League (Florida). This site is part of the Cricket Circle information and news network.

Ahmedabad Rockets v Chandigarh Lions

Indian Cricket League 2007 Season News

Ahmedabad Rockets beat Chandigarh Lions in ICL opener

New team Ahmedabad Rockets held their nerves to taste 19-run victory over local side Chandigarh Lions in the inaugural match of the second edition of Indian Cricket League Twenty20 tournament at Panchkula on Sunday night.
Chasing 159 to win, Lions had hopes till skipper Chris Cairns (21) and Dinesh Mongia (16) were at the crease after they lost three top-order batsmen. Opener Matthew Elliott (39) was the only batsman who made some useful contribution for the Lions.
However, Cairns fell to Jason Gillespie and soon after Mongia departed, falling to Heath Streak, reducing Lions to 113 for 5 in 16.2 overs. With the asking rate creeping up, it was always going to be a big task for the Lions lower order batsmen, who only managed to take the total to 139 for 6.
Earlier, Ahmedabad Rockets had a rollicking start after winning the toss, with former West Indian left-hander Wavell Hinds scoring at will. Hinds, who opened the innings along with Madhya Pradesh batsman Sachin Dholpure, hit five big sixes and three fours to reach 53 in just 43 balls before being unlucky to get run out. Dholpure, too, looked in good touch and scored briskly accumulating 54 runs in just 43 balls, which included three sixes and four boundaries. Both the batsmen were involved in a 122-run stand for the first wicket.
Mongia applied brakes on Rockets' innings by dismissing Dholpure and then cleaned up rival skipper Damien Martyn for 2. Former Zimbabwean skipper Heath Streak (15) and Reetinder Sodhi (9), both not out, made useful contributions helping their team post a challenging total. Cairns claimed two scalps for the Lions.

Indian Cricket League Grand Championship 2008 Schedule

Editor: Nishanth Gopinathan.