Indian Cricket League ICL Grand Championship 2008 News

latest cricket

World T20, 2nd Semi-Final

India vs West Indies

at Mumbai, Mar 31, 2016
West Indies 196/3 beat India 192/2 by 7 wickets

Indian Cricket League - ICL 2007 Latest News

The first news and information website on Indian Cricket League
The ICL (India) is a private cricket league that runs parallel to the existing cricket league managed by Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI). The format of ICL is Twenty20.This website,, (Created on: 03-Apr-2007) is in no way affiliated with or is the property of Zee's ICL (India) or Indian Cricket League (Florida). This site is part of the Cricket Circle information and news network.

Indian Cricket League Grand Championship 2008

Edelweiss ICL 20s Challenge 2008

Hyderabad Heroes become Edelweiss ICL 20s Challenge champions

In a thrilling second final of the Edelweiss ICL 20s Challenge, Hyderabad Heroes beat Lahore Badshahs in a heart-stopping bowl out to take the title 2-0 the Lal Bahadur Stadium on Sunday. Chris Harris' Heroes had won the first final as well.
With scores tied as Heroes chased Badshahs' total of 130, it came down to the decisive bowl out, which the Heroes won 3-0. While Boje, PIS Reddy and Harris of Heroes hit the target, Rana Naved, Shahid Nariz and Naved Latif of Badshahs missed.
Earlier, Ambati Rayudu's heroics took Heroes close to victory. Needing 23 runs in the last two overs, Rayudu hit a huge six over mid-wicket as Heroes took 12 runs from the penultimate over, delivered by Azhar Mahmood. Heroes were helped by two no-balls in the final over as Rana Naved, who gave only 13 runs in three overs, conceded eight runs in his fourth over. The Heroes were unlucky in the end as they lost their last two wickets to Rana needing just two runs from three balls. At 129/8, Absolom was run out for the fourth ball of the final over. However, the ball was ruled wide and Heroes got one run. PIS Reddy, who stepped in next, was clean bowled by Rana to leave the scores level.
Earlier, P Inder Sekhar Reddy and Stuart Binny restricted Badshahs to 130/9 in 20 overs. While Reddy claimed four wickets for 19 runs, Binny scalped three for nine. Badshahs were off to a flying start before Absolom got the crucial breakthrough when he had Umar caught by Maher. Umar added 34 runs with Nazir for the first wicket in five overs. From being 63/1 at the end of nine overs, the Badshahs suffered four quick blows to be left reeling at 98/6. Reddy started the slide when he removed Nazir for 30. An over later he got the prized wicket, trapping Badshahs captain Inzamam-ul Haq for 5.
Binny joined the party as he struck thrice in quick succession, accounting for Farhat, Latif and Humayun.
However, the big hitting Azhar Mahmood tried to repair the damage by accelerating the run rate when Reddy got into the act again. The Badshahs lost momentum thereafter but managed to add 19 runs in the last two overs.

Indian Cricket League Grand Championship 2008


Index | News | Schedule | Teams | Results
Editor: Nishanth Gopinathan.