Indian Premier League

latest cricket

World T20, 2nd Semi-Final

India vs West Indies

at Mumbai, Mar 31, 2016
West Indies 196/3 beat India 192/2 by 7 wickets

Indian Premier League Season 2

2009 DLF Indian Premier League

Indian Premier League, Live from South Africa!

The 2009 Indian Premier League season will be the second season of the Indian Premier League, established by the BCCI in 2007. The second edition is scheduled between April 10 and May 24, 2009. The format of the tournament would remain unchanged from the 2008 season format. The eight franchises will first play against one another in a league on home-and-away basis. The top four teams will then figure in the two semi-finals and a final. The number of international players allowed in any one squad was increased from 8 to 10 although the number allowed in any playing 11 remains at 4. Four new franchises will join the IPL in 2010-11.

2009 DLF Indian Premier League Final Group Standings

Team M W L NR RR Pts
Delhi Daredevils (V Sehwag) 14 10 4 0 +0.311 20
Chennai Super Kings (MS Dhoni) 14 8 5 1 +0.951 17
Bangalore Royal Challengers (K Pieterson) 14 8 6 0 -0.191 16
Deccan Chargers (Adam Gilchrist) 14 7 7 0 +0.203 14
Kings XI Punjab (Y Singh) 14 7 7 0 -0.483 14
Rajasthan Royals (S Warne) 14 6 7 1 -0.352 13
Mumbai Indians (S Tendulkar) 14 5 8 1 +0.297 11
Kolkata Knight Riders (B McCullam) 14 3 10 1 -0.789 7

2009 DLF Indian Premier League: Latest News

2nd IPL 2009 Finals - Deccan Chargers v Royal Challengers Bangalore

Two teams that were at the bottom of the points table in the first IPL season, the Deccan Chargers and the Royal Challengers Bangalore, will clash in the final of the Indian Premier League (IPL 2009) on Sunday at Johannesburg.

IPL 2009 Final: Deccan Chargers snatch IPL 2009 title in tense finish

Deccan Chargers beat Bangalore Royal Challengers by six runs in the final of the Indian Premier League at the Wanderers on Sunday.
Veteran Anil Kumble bowled four overs for 16 runs and four wickets, and kept Deccan Chargers in check at the Wanderers, but the Bangalore batsmen couldn't chase down the below-par total of 143 for 6 set by the Chargers.Bangalore needed 27 from the last two overs, and 14 from the last, but Robin Uthappa couldn't do much, except a lone sixer. A crestfallen Kumble was at the other end watching the match and the trophy slipping away with each ball.The Deccan Chargers franchise is owned by Deccan Chronicle. The media group acquired the franchise from IPL for $107 million on January 24, 2008. The match was followed by a spectacular closing ceremony, addressed by President Zuma of South Africa. Deccan Chargers: Adam Gilchrist (Captain), H Gibbs, TS Suman, Rohit Sharma, Andrew Symonds, Venugopal Rao, A Bilakhia, R Harris, P Ojha, Harmeet Singh, RP Singh

Royal Challengers Bangalore: Rahul Dravid, Anil Kumble (Captain), Robin Uthappa, Praveen Kumar, Ross Taylor, Jacques Kallis, Mark Boucher, Virat Kohli, Vinay Kumar, Manish Pandey, RD Merwe.
RCB v DC, Finals: Deccan Chargers 143 for 6 (Gibbs 53*, Symonds 33, Kumble 4-16) beat Royal Challengers Bangalore 137 for 9 (RE van der Merwe 32, Ross Taylor 27, Ojha 3-28) by 6 runs

2nd Semi-Final - Chennai Super Kings v Royal Challengers Bangalore

Last year's runners up Chennai Super Kings will take on their South Indian neighbour Bangalore Royal Challengers in the second semi for a spot in Sunday's final. Bangalore was a team that many had written off even before they started their campaign in South Africa, following their disastrous season in 2008.
However, Bangalore started out with a bang under their new skipper Kevin Pietersen by comprehensively defeating last year's champions Rajasthan Royals. Kevin Pietersen, the highest paid player in this year's IPL, couldn't find his form, and the team too looked out of sorts, losing four games in a row to find themselves at the back end of the table. It was when Anil Kumble took over the reins that Bangalore won 6 games out of 8, culminating with three wins in a row against the three other semi-finalists. Chennai and Bangalore have clashed twice this season with each side coming out on top once. Chennai completely demolished Bangalore in the first meeting by a whopping margin of 92 runs, but Bangalore came back in the second meeting by bundling out Chennai for 129, and winning with 2 wickets to spare.

Second Semi-Final: Royal Challengers thump Chennai by 6 wickets

Anil Kumble's bowlers restricted last year’s runners-up Super Kings to 146 for five in 20 overs and then 19-year-old Man of the Match Manish Pandey (48) and the veteran Rahul Dravid (44) played sensibly to put Royal Challengers in the finals, with seven balls to spare.
Bangalore, one of the worst teams in the inaugural IPL, and dubbed "The Test Team", will now face another side that struggled in the 2008 season, Deccan Chargers, in the final at the Wanderers. Chennai Super Kings: Matthew Hayden, Parthiv Patel, Lakshmipathy Balaji, MS Dhoni (Captain), Suresh Raina, Jacob Oram, Albie Morkel, Muttiah Muralitharan, Subramaniam Badrinath, Shadab Jakati, Manpreet Gony

Royal Challengers Bangalore: Rahul Dravid, Anil Kumble (Captain), Robin Uthappa, Praveen Kumar, Ross Taylor, Jacques Kallis, Mark Boucher, Virat Kohli, Vinay Kumar, Manish Pandey, RD Merwe.
RCB v CSK, Second Semi: Royal Challengers Bangalore 149 for 4 (Pandey 48, Dravid 44) beat Chennai Super Kings 146 for 5 (Parthiv 36, 2-38) by six wickets

1st Semi-Final - Delhi Daredevils v Deccan Chargers

After 56 incredibly entertaining matches, the semi-finals of the Indian Premier League (IPL) are about to start. Delhi Daredevils, under the leadership of Virendra Sehwag, who with 10 wins from their 14 games played are clear favourites for the title when they meet early leaders Deccan Chargers. Chargers went 4 games unbeaten to start their 2009 campaign, after finishing rock bottom in 2008.
AB De Villiers was the top scorer for Delhi Daredevils in the group stage, with 439 from 12 innings with a superb average of 54.9 and a strike rate of 131.4. For Deccan Chargers, Adam Gilchrist top scored with 410 from 14 innings at an average of 29.3 and a strike rate of 142.9. He hit 24 sixes and 44 fours in the group stages.The two times the teams met in the group stage, Delhi won both encounters. In their first encounter, Delhi won comfortably by 6 wickets with 8 balls to spare, after Deccan set them a target of 148/9. In the second match, Delhi set a target of 173, and Deccan fell short by 12 runs, after losing 7 wickets for 12 runs.
RP Singh (Deccan) and Ashish Nehra (Delhi) are the two leading wicket-takers in the tournament, with Nehra two behind RP Singh's 20.

First Semi-Final: Gilchrist blasts Chargers into the final

Chasing 153 set by Delhi, Deccan captain Adam Gilchrist blazed away, hitting the fastest IPL half century in 17 balls, to set up his team a comfortable victory. Dirk Nannes, one of the best bowlers of this IPL, was clobbered for five consecutive boundaries in the first over. Gilchrist fell for 85 from 35 balls one delivery before the strategic break, but the damage had been done by then. Deccan won with six wickets in hand and 16 balls to spare. They will meet the winners of the second Semi between Chennai and Bangalore. Delhi Daredevils: G Gambhir, DA Warner, V Sehwag (Captain), TM Dilshan, AB de Villiers, KD Karthik, R Bhatia, A Mishra, DP Nannes, P Sangwan, A Nehra.

Hyderabad (Deccan Chargers): AC Gilchrist (Captain), HH Gibbs, TS Suman, RG Sharma, A Symonds, Y Venugopal Rao, AA Bilakhia, RJ Harris, PP Ojha, Harmeet Singh, RP Singh.
DD v DC, First Semi: Deccan Chargers 154 for 4 (Gilchrist 85) beat Delhi Daredevils 153 for 8 (Dilshan 65, Sehwag 39, Harris 3-27) by six wickets

Editor: Nishanth Gopinathan.