Deccan Chargers v Mumbai Indians at Durban

latest cricket

World T20, 2nd Semi-Final

India vs West Indies

at Mumbai, Mar 31, 2016
West Indies 196/3 beat India 192/2 by 7 wickets

Indian Premier League Season 2

2009 DLF Indian Premier League

Deccan Chargers v Mumbai Indians at Durban

DC v MI, Match 12: Deccan hero Ojha puts Mumbai in a spin

A spinning masterclass from Pragyan Ojha and disciplined back-up from Venugopal Rao ensured Deccan Chargers consolidated their position at the top of the Indian Premier League (IPL) table with a 12-run victory over Mumbai Indians at Durban on Saturday.
Chasing 169, Mumbai looked destined for victory when they entered the final 10 overs of their innings needing 85 to win with nine wickets in hand and star batsmen Sachin Tendulkar and JP Duminy at the crease. But Ojha's 3-21 swung the match as he had Tendulkar caught at short extra cover by Herschelle Gibbs for 36, then removed Shikhar Dhawan and Duminy (47) in consecutive overs.
Fellow spinner Rao squeezed the batsmen at the other end, allowing just 21 runs from his first three overs as Mumbai managed a meagre 24 runs in the five overs after the 'strategy break'. Dwayne Bravo and Harbhajan Singh led spirited resistance, but when Fidel Edwards removed fellow West Indian Bravo for 21, Mumbai's fate was sealed and they ended their innings on 156-7.
An opening stand of 63 between Adam Gilchrist and Gibbs set Chargers up for a big total after they won the toss and elected to bat under sunny Kingsmead skies. Even after Gilchrist had fallen for 35 to the bowling of Bravo, Gibbs continued the assault on Mumbai's bowlers with Dwayne Smith as Deccan reached 124-1 in the 13th over.
But when Smith was bowled by Sanath Jayasuriya for 35, his dismissal instigated a collapse and none of the batsmen who followed reached double figures. Top scorer Gibbs was run out for a feisty 58 as Deccan made 168-8 in 20 overs.
DC v MI, Match 12: Deccan Chargers 168-9 (20.0 ov) beat Mumbai Indians 156-7 (20.0 ov) by 12 runs

Deccan Chargers v Mumbai Indians at Durban


Deccan Chargers: 168-9 (20.0 ov)
Gibbs 58, Gilchrist 35, Smith 35
Malinga 19-3, Bravo 34-3 Mumbai Indians: 156-7 (20.0 ov)
Duminy 47, Sachin 36
Ojha 21-3

Editor: Nishanth Gopinathan.