Delhi DareDevils v Rajasthan Royals at Delhi Indian Premier League 2008

latest cricket

World T20, 2nd Semi-Final

India vs West Indies

at Mumbai, Mar 31, 2016
West Indies 196/3 beat India 192/2 by 7 wickets

Indian Premier League - IPL

Delhi DareDevils v Rajasthan Royals at Delhi

DD v RR, IPL Match 3, Delhi: Gambhir, Dhawan steer Delhi Daredevils to easy win

After the two opening matches of the inaugural Indian Premier League (IPL) saw the host team going down to the visitors, the Delhi Daredevils changed the trend and comprehensively defeated Rajasthan Royals by nine wickets at Delhi.
Set to chase a target of 129, the Daredevils were benefited by an unbeaten 112-run second wicket stand between Gautam Gambhir and Shikhar Dhawan who matched each other run for run to overhaul the target in just 16 overs. The Royals' bowlers looked spineless and could did not have any moments of joy in the match except for Virender Sehwag's wicket. Sehwag started in his usual style and hammered three consecutive boundries only to see the fourth delivery take an inside edge to rip away his off-stump.
However, it was all hard work for Royals from then on as India's Twenty20 World Cup star Gambhir and Shikhar Dhawan toyed with the bowling and gave nothing away. Gambhir, who has been a revelation for India in his Twenty20 cricket career, scored 58 runs off 46 balls which was studded by seven boundaries and a six while left-handed Dhawan's 51 came off 41 balls which included eight fours. It was just the toss that went the way of Royals' captain Shane Warne and even the spin wizard himself could not create chances for his team's revival.
Earlier, electing to bat first, Rajasthan Royals were reduced to a modest 129 for eight as Daredevils' bowlers spearheaded by former Australian Glen McGrath troubled the visitors throughout the 20 overs. The Royals looked shaky from the start itself and soon McGrath removed under-19 World Cup star Turuwar Kohli (7) in the third over of the match with just 17 runs on the board.
In the next over, Yousuf Pathan (10) was involved in a dreadful mix-up with Shane Watson that resulted in his departure only to see the latter falling short of the crease two overs later. Mohammad Kaif, who played 19 balls to score nine runs too caved in to pressure and left his team reeling at 57 for five. The effort from Royals seemed a little below par as the two opening matches of the inaugural Indian Premier League (IPL) saw both the teams scoring heavily in the first innings.
For Daredevils, Sri Lanka's Fervez Maharoof and Rajat Bhatia bowled tight spells and gave nothing away as both the medium pacers scalped two wickets each in their alloted four overs.
However, it was McGrath who tightened the screws on Royals and the bowlers who followed him did an excellent job to sustain the pressure created by the former Australian great. McGrath gave away 21 runs in his four overs and claimed one wicket for Daredevils.
The Royals did not have any substantial contribution from any of their batsmen apart from Ravindra Jadeja who scored 29 runs off 23 balls which included two sixes while Dinesh Salunkhe remained unbeaten on 26 with four hits to the fence. Delhi DareDevils Team
Yusuf Pathan, Taruwar Kohli, Darren Lehmann, Mohammad Kaif, Shane Watson, Ravindra Jadeja, Mahesh Rawat (Wicket Keeper), Dinesh Salunkhe, Shane Warne (Captain), Siddharth Trivedi, Munaf Patel Rajasthan Royals Team
Virender Sehwag (Captain), Gautam Gambhir, Shikhar Dhawan, Manoj Tiwary, Dinesh Karthik (Wicket Keeper), Rajat Bhatia, Mithun Manhas, Daniel Vettori, Farveez Maharoof, Brett Geeves, Glenn McGrath
DD v RR, IPL Match 3, Delhi: Delhi Daredevils 132 for 1 in 15.1 ovs beat Rajasthan Royals 129 for 8 in 20 ovs by 9 wickets

Delhi DareDevils v Rajasthan Royals


Toss: Rajasthan Royals.Rajasthan Royals innings 
T Kohli c Manhas b McGrath 7 (12)
Y Pathan run out (Manhas/Geeves) 10 (5)
S Watson run out (Dhawan/Bhatia) 21 (15)
M Kaif c Geeves b Bhatia 9 (19)
D Lehmann lbw b Maharoof 1 (2)
R Jadeja b Vettori 29 (23)
M Rawat b Bhatia 2 (4)
D Salunkhe not out 26 (20)
S Warne b Maharoof 14 (13)
S Trivedi not out 3 (7)
Extras  7
Total (20 overs) 8 wkts for 129Fall of wickets: 1-17, 2-27, 3-41, 4-47, 5-57, 6-71, 7-93, 8-110 Bowling
G McGrath 4-1-21-1
B Geeves 4-0-41-0
M Maharoof 4-0-11-2
R Bhatia 4-0-17-2
D Vettori 4-0-35-1Delhi Daredevils innings
G Gambhir not out 58 (46)
V Sehwag b Watson 12 (4)
S Dhawan not out 52 (41)
Extras 10
Total (15.1 overs)  1 wkts for 132) Fall of wickets: 1-20 Bowling
M Patel 3-0-25-0
S Watson 4-0-31-1
S Trivedi 3-0-32-0
S Warne 2-0-16-0
Y Pathan 2.1-0-17-0
D Salunkhe 1-0-11-0Result: Delhi Daredevils won by 9 wickets

Editor: Nishanth Gopinathan.