Deccan Chargers v Delhi DareDevils at Jaipur Indian Premier League 2008

latest cricket

World T20, 2nd Semi-Final

India vs West Indies

at Mumbai, Mar 31, 2016
West Indies 196/3 beat India 192/2 by 7 wickets

Indian Premier League - IPL

Deccan Chargers v Delhi DareDevils at Jaipur

DNC v DDD, IPL Match 7, Hyderabad: Sehwag leads Delhi Daredevils to easy victory

Riding high on Virender Sehwag's 94 runs, Delhi Daredevils outclassed Deccan Chargers by nine wickets in the seventh match of the Indian Premier League.
Chasing the target of 143 runs, Delhi Daredevils humbled Deccan Chargers in just 13 overs.
Earlier, Rohit Sharma hammered a 36-ball 66 as Deccan Chargers overcame a top order collapse to post 142 for eight in their Indian Premier League match against Delhi Daredevils. Rohit stood tall amid ruins to slam his maiden fifty in this format and his explosive 66 included six fours and four sixes before he holed out to Glenn McGrath off Rajat Bhatia.
Deccan Chargers skipper VVS Laxman's decision to bat first boomeranged with the hosts finding themselves in a hole with the score reading 45 for four inside 10 overs. After the miserly Glenn McGrath conceded just one run in the first over, identical two-wicket bursts from Mohammad Asif and Ferveez Maharoof tightened the noose around the hosts.
Adam Gilchrist (8) flicked Asif effortlessly for a magnificent six before dragging a delivery onto his stumps and crisis compounded for the hosts who soon had skipper Laxman (2) back in the hut, courtesy Asif. To make it worse, Maharoof claimed two scalps -- Y Venugopal Rao (14) and the danger man Andrew Symonds (12) -- in as many overs to pin them down. With the team in dire straits, much was expected from Shahid Afridi (2) but the Pakistani swashbuckler scratched around for seven balls before Bhatia caught him plumb in front as the hosts lost their top half for just 60.
DNC v DDD, IPL Match 7, Hyderabad: Delhi Daredevils 143 for 1 in 13.0 ovs beat Deccan Chargers 142 for 8 in 20.0 ovs by 9 wickets

DNC v DDD, IPL Match 7, Hyderabad: Deccan Chargers take on Daredevils on Tuesday

After a narrow defeat to Kolkata Knight Riders, Hyderabad Deccan Chargers would be aiming to register their first win in the Indian Premier League as they host Delhi Daredevils at Hyderabad on Tuesday.
The home side will have a big advantage in their game against the Delhi outfit as explosive Pakistani import Shahid Afridi will join the team for Tuesday's clash at Rajiv Gandhi international stadium. Apart from Afridi, the Chargers have a b batting line-up consisting of captain VVS Laxman, Adam Gilchrist, Andrew Symonds, Y Venugopal Rao, Rohit Sharma and Ranji players D B Ravi Teja and Kalyan Krishna.
The bowling department also looks impressive with the presence of Scott Styris, Chaminda Vaas, R P Singh and talented Hyderabad left-arm spinner Pragyan Ojha, who took crucial wickets of Sourav Ganguly and Mohd Hafeez in their first match against the Knight Riders. The Delhi Daredevils led by Virender Sehwag are on a high after their convincing victory over Rajasthan Royals in Delhi.
The Daredevils will have the likes of A B de Villiers, Shoaib Malik, Mohammed Asif, Tillakratne Dilshan and Abdul Razzak who missed the first match against the Rajasthan team will join the squad. The Rajiv Gandhi stadium is braced up for the occasion with the light towers becoming formally functional last week. With a capacity to accommodate 40,000 spectators, the venue is going to have its share of the high voltage entertainment dished so far in the IPL. Deccan Chargers team (from): VVS Laxman (Captain), Scott Styris, Adam Gilchrist (Wicket Keeper), H Gibbs, Andrew Symonds, Sanjay Bangar, Rohit Sharma, Chamara Silva, Y Venugopal Rao, Chaminda Vaas, Nuwan Zoysa, Haldhar Das (Wicket Keeper), D Kalyan Krishna, Pragyan Ojha, DB Raviteja, PM Sarvesh Kumar, R P Singh, P Vijay Kumar and Arjun Yadav.
Delhi Daredevils team (from): Virender Sehwag (Captain), Gautam Gambhir, Manoj Tiwari, Daniel Vettori, Shoaib Malik, Dinesh Kartik, Glenn McGrath, Mohammed Asif, Ferveez Meharoof, Pradeep Sangwan, Brett Geeves, Rajat Bhatia, Shikar Dhawan, Yo Mahesh, Tillakratne Dilshad, Abdul Razzak, Mithun Manhas, Mayank Tehlan, Amit Mishra, Tejaswi Yadav, A B de Villiers and Yogesh Nagar.

Deccan Chargers v Delhi DareDevils at Jaipur


Toss: Deccan Chargers.Deccan Chargers innings
A Gilchrist b Mohammad Asif 8 (9)
Y Venugopal Rao c Dhawan b Maharoof 14 (22)
VVS Laxman b Mohammad Asif 2 (6)
A Symonds c Karthik b Maharoof 12 (13)
R Sharma c McGrath b Bhatia 66 (36)
Shahid Afridi lbw b Bhatia 2 (7)
S Bangar run out (Tiwary/Karthik) 8 (14)
A Yadav c Gambhir b Mahesh 12 (7)
C Vaas not out 12 (6)
RP Singh not out 1 (1)
Extras  5
Total (20 overs) 8 wkts for 142Fall of wickets: 1-9, 2-23, 3-36, 4-45, 5-60, 6-82, 7-123, 8-129.Bowling
G McGrath 4-1-22-0
Mohammad Asif 4-0-19-2
MF Maharoof 4-0-36-2
V Mahesh 4-0-35-1
R Bhatia 4-0-27-2 Delhi Daredevils innings
G Gambhir c Gilchrist b Singh 12 (9)
V Sehwag not out 94 (41)
S Dhawan not out 25 (28)
Extras 12
Total (13 overs) 1 wkt for 143Fall of wickets: 1-31. Bowling 
C Vaas 3-0-22-0
RP Singh 3-0-27-1
S Bangar 2-0-30-0
Shahid Afridi 2-0-17-0
A Symonds 2-0-35-0
P Ojha 1-0-7-0Result:  Delhi Daredevils won by 9 wickets. 

Editor: Nishanth Gopinathan.