Indian Premier League 2008

latest cricket

World T20, 2nd Semi-Final

India vs West Indies

at Mumbai, Mar 31, 2016
West Indies 196/3 beat India 192/2 by 7 wickets

Indian Premier League - IPL

Indian Premier League 2008

RR v CSK, IPL Final, Mumbai: Rajasthan win inaugural IPL

Yusuf Pathan inspired Rajasthan Royals to a three-wicket defeat of Chennai Super Kings in a thrilling Indian Premier League final on Sunday.
He took three wickets to reduce Chennai, who lost the toss and were put into bat, to 163 for five, and then smashed 56 - including four sixes and three fours - in a 39-ball innings. Needing eight runs off the final over, Shane Warne (nine not out) and Sohail Tanvir (nine no) kept their cool to reach the target, with the latter grabbing the one run needed for victory off the final ball of the match.
The Royals suffered a double blow as in the same over Kamran Akmal (six) went for a suicidal single after nudging to mid-on and was run out by Makhaya Ntini's direct hit. Pathan proved he was just as capable with the bat as with the ball, although he was lucky to be dropped by Raina in the 11th over on 13. Raina's error proved costly as Pathan went on to smash Muttiah Muralitharan for back-to-back sixes.
Shane Watson chipped in with a quickfire 28 off 19 balls but succumbed when he came down the track to Muralitharan but missed and was bowled.
Needing 52 off the last five overs, Pathan launched Lakshmipathy Balaji for 12 off one over and then dished out the same treatment to Muralitharan, hoisting the spinner over midwicket to bring up his half century. But Mohammad Kaif then lobbed Muralitharan to Mahendra Singh Dhoni at cover and Ravindra Jadeja followed next ball when he pulled Morkel straight to Kapugedera at mid-on. Rajasthan's hopes were knocked when Pathan was run out by Raina's superb direct hit but Warne and Tanvir steered the Royals to victory.
Earlier, Chennai openers Vidyut Sivaramakrishnan and Parthiv Patel put on 39 before the former was dismissed in the sixth over. He tried to pull Pathan over deep midwicket but mistimed it and was caught by Jadeja sprinting in from the boundary.
Aiming for a flurry of runs in the final few overs, Raina tried one shot too many and was caught on the long-off boundary by Jadeja off the bowling of Watson, and Chamara Kapugedera did not last long, adding just eight runs before lofting to Asnodkar at long on off Tanvir.
RR v CSK, IPL Final, Mumbai: Rajasthan Royals 164 for 7 in 20.0 ovs beat Chennai Super Kings 163 for 5 in 20.0 ovs by 3 wickets
The Indian Premier League (IPL), created by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) and sanctioned by the International Cricket Council, is a Twenty20 competition. It was announced after the BCCI declined permission to allow BCCI-contracted players to play in the Indian Cricket League. The league is scheduled to start in April 2008 and will last for 44 days, involving 59 matches. The prize money for the league will be around Rs 13 crore (US $3million).
Each team will have a pool of 16 players, of whom four will be international and four from the Under-19 level or from the catchment area where the team is based.
The governing council consists of Chairman and Commissioner Lalit Modi, Sunil Gavaskar, MAK Pataudi and Ravi Shastri, Rajiv Shukla, Chirayu Amin, Inderjit Singh Bindra and Arun Jaitley.
Although it is going to be a franchise system, some foreign players have already been contracted by the BCCI to play in the IPL.

Indian Premier League 2008 Standings

Team M W L NR RR Pts
Rajasthan Royals (S Warne) 14 11 3 0 +0.632 22
Kings XI Punjab (Y Singh) 14 10 4 0 +0.509 20
Chennai Super Kings (MS Dhoni) 14 8 6 0 -0.192 16
Delhi Daredevils (V Sehwag) 14 7 6 1 +0.342 15
Mumbai Indians (S Tendulkar) 14 7 7 0 +0.570 14
Kolkata Knight Riders (S Ganguly) 14 6 7 1 -0.147 13
Bangalore Royal Challengers (R Dravid) 14 4 10 0 -1.161 8
Deccan Chargers (VVS Laxman) 14 2 12 0 -0.467 4

Indian Premier League 2008

IPL 2008: Latest News | Schedule | Results | Teams | Broadcast | Franchises


Editor: Nishanth Gopinathan.