Indian Premier League 2009 Live Broadcast

latest cricket

World T20, 2nd Semi-Final

India vs West Indies

at Mumbai, Mar 31, 2016
West Indies 196/3 beat India 192/2 by 7 wickets

Indian Premier League Season 2

2009 DLF Indian Premier League

Indian Premier League, Live from South Africa!

The 2009 Indian Premier League season will be the second season of the Indian Premier League, established by the BCCI in 2007. The second edition is scheduled between April 10 and May 24, 2009. The format of the tournament would remain unchanged from the 2008 season format. The eight franchises will first play against one another in a league on home-and-away basis. The top four teams will then figure in the two semi-finals and a final. The number of international players allowed in any one squad was increased from 8 to 10 although the number allowed in any playing 11 remains at 4. Four new franchises will join the IPL in 2010-11.

2009 DLF Indian Premier League Final Group Standings

Team M W L NR RR Pts
Delhi Daredevils (V Sehwag) 14 10 4 0 +0.311 20
Chennai Super Kings (MS Dhoni) 14 8 5 1 +0.951 17
Bangalore Royal Challengers (K Pieterson) 14 8 6 0 -0.191 16
Deccan Chargers (Adam Gilchrist) 14 7 7 0 +0.203 14
Kings XI Punjab (Y Singh) 14 7 7 0 -0.483 14
Rajasthan Royals (S Warne) 14 6 7 1 -0.352 13
Mumbai Indians (S Tendulkar) 14 5 8 1 +0.297 11
Kolkata Knight Riders (B McCullam) 14 3 10 1 -0.789 7

Indian Premier League 2009 Live Broadcast

Sony bags IPL TV rights

In the biggest-ever deal in the sporting history of India, Multi Screen Media and World Sport Group have bought the telecast rights of the Indian Premier League for a whopping Rs 8,200 crore (around $ 1.63 billion) for a period of nine years.
Multi Screen Media (Sony), which had bought the rights in the inaugural season for $ 1.1 billion, shelled out more than half a billion dollars this time to acquire the rights. MSM had earlier dragged IPL to court after it had terminated the existing contract, signed last year, and sold it to WSG Mauritius. MSM earned handsome revenues from the 45-day extravaganza last season. But it will be interesting to see how hard it sells the slots this time, given that media planners are already demanding a cut in rates.

Television Rights

On January 14th, 2008, it was announced that a consortium consisting of India's Sony Television network and Singapore-based World Sports Group secured the rights of the Indian Premier League. The record deal has a duration of ten years at a cost of US$1.026 billion. As part of the deal, the consortium will pay the BCCI US$918 million for the telecast rights and US$108 million for the promotion of the tournament.
The BCCI announced that the bulk of the proceeds from this deal would initially go to the IPL franchises themselves, gradually reducing this amount over the life of the contract. On Feburary 11, 2008, Network Ten announced it had secured the exclusive Australian rights to the IPL.

UK broadcaster Setanta bags IPL rights for 5 years

UK broadcaster Setanta Sports has further broadened its coverage of sport by announcing that it has secured the rights to the upcoming Indian Premier League (IPL) in a five-year deal.
The exclusively live coverage will start with all 59 games of the inaugural Indian Premier League season that takes place across India from 18 April to 1 June, 2008.
The eight teams involved in the tournament - Bangalore, Chennai, Delhi, Hyderabad, Jaipur, Kolkata, Mohali and Mumbai - have attracted big names in world cricket to play in the competition. Indian cricketing stars such as Sachin Tendulkar, Rahul Dravid and Sourav Ganguly will all feature alongside cricketing legends such as Shane Warne, Glenn McGrath, Muttiah Muralitharan, Jacques Kallis and Adam Gilchrist.
The Indian Premier League’s first season will start on Friday, April 18 with Bangalore v Kolkata and concludes with the final in Mumbai on Sunday, June 1. Each team will play each other twice, with the top four teams competing in semi-finals on May 30 and May 31. The vast majority of the fixtures will be day-night matches and Setanta will show each and every game exclusively live. As the games will start at 9.30am, 1.30pm or 2.30pm GMT, Setanta will ensure the games are repeated in peak time to maximise the audience able to view this exciting tournament.

Editor: Nishanth Gopinathan.