Indian Premier League

latest cricket

ICC Champions Trophy 2017

India vs Pakistan FINAL

Sunday 18 June 17 @ The Oval
Match scheduled to begin at 10:30 local time (09:30 GMT)

Indian Premier League Season 3

2010 DLF Indian Premier League

IPL 3 to kick off in Hyderabad

The 2010 Indian Premier League season will kick off in Hyderabad. Defending champions the Deccan Chargers will kick off an expanded third edition of the Indian Premier League next March in Hyderabad against the Kolkata Knight Riders. There will be four new venues to the IPL tournament - Nagpur, Ahmedabad, Dharamsala and Vishakapatnam - which will act as home venues for Mumbai Indians, Team Jaipur, Kings XI and Team Hyderabad respectively. There will be an extra game in 2010, the third place play-off after the two semifinals. The 'icon status' of Tendulkar, Sehwag, Dravid, Ganguly and Singh, who enjoyed the special status in the inaugural two seasons, is over, and they will be treated like any other player in the IPL. They will no more stand to earn 15% more than the highest-earning player from his franchise. The IPL has also brought a change in strategy (time-out) breaks that were introduced in 2009. Instead of a seven-and-half minute break per innings, which equals to 15 minutes per game, there will now be two two-and-half minute breaks per innings, equaling to 10 minutes per game. The first break will be called by the bowling captain between the sixth and the tenth over while second by the batsman at the crease between the 11th and 15th over.

IPL 2010 DLF Indian Premier League 3

Editor: Nishanth Gopinathan.