Kolkata Knight Riders v Deccan Chargers at Kolkata Indian Premier League 2008

latest cricket

World T20, 2nd Semi-Final

India vs West Indies

at Mumbai, Mar 31, 2016
West Indies 196/3 beat India 192/2 by 7 wickets

Indian Premier League - IPL

Kolkata Knight Riders v Deccan Chargers at Kolkata

KKR v DC, IPL Match 5, Kolkata Knight Riders beat Deccan Chargers by 5 wickets

Kolkata Knight Riders have won their second consecutive match in the ongoing Indian Premier League Twenty-20 tournament. At the Eden Gardens in Kolkata today they beat Deccan Chargers by an emphatic margin of Five wickets. Set to score 111 runs for a win, the Kolkata side made 112 for 5. David Hussey was the top scorer with an unbeaten 38.
Earlier electing to bat, the Chargers lost quick wickets as their top order caved in to some disciplined stuff delivered by the Kinght Riders bowlers. Some of the balls kept low on the pitch while some other deliveries jumped awkwardly. The Chargers, skippered by V V S Laxman, never appeared comfortable as only five of their bastmen reached double figures.
The Aussie duo of Andrew Symonds who made 32 and Adam Gilchrist who made 23 were the main contributors before a near-capacity crowd. Laxman was out without scoring. With three wickets for 17 runs, spinner Murali Kartik was the wrecker-in-chief for the Knight Riders. Ajit Agarkar bagged a couple after being hammered for 16 runs in his first over. Knight Riders had earlier won their opening fixture against Royal Challengers Bangalore on the inaugural day on Friday. Kolkata Knight Riders
Sourav Ganguly (Captain), B McCullum , Ricky Ponting , David Hussey , Mohammad Hafeez , Laxmi Shukla , Prasanta Saha (Wicket Keeper) , Ajit Agarkar , Murali Kartik , Ishant Sharma , Ashok Dinda Deccan Chargers
Adam Gilchrist (Wicket Keeper) , Venugopal Rao , VVS Laxman (Captain), Andrew Symonds , Rohit Sharma , Scott Styris , Sanjay Bangar , Arjun Yadav , Chaminda Vaas , RP Singh , Pragyan Ojha
KKR v DC, IPL Match 5, Kolkatta: Kolkata Knight Riders 112 for 5 in 19 ovs beat Deccan Chargers 110 in 18.4 ovs by 5 wickets

Kolkata Knight Riders v Deccan Chargers Teams


Toss: Deccan Chargers.Deccan Chargers innings 
A Gilchrist c Mohammad Hafeez b Kartik 23 (22)
Y Venugopal Rao c Kartik b Sharma 14 (14)
VVS Laxman c Shukla b Dinda 0 (6)
A Symonds c Hussey b Agarkar 32 (39)
R Sharma c Saha b Kartik 0 (3)
S Styris b Mohammad Hafeez 6 (7)
A Yadav c Dinda b Hussey 10 (10)
S Bangar c Saha b Kartik 14 (10)
C Vaas c Ganguly b Agarkar 0 (1)
R Singh not out 1 (2)
P Ojha run out (Mohammad Hafeez/Saha) 0 (0)
Extras 10
Total (18.4 overs) All out 110 Fall of wickets: 1-21, 2-22, 3-47, 4-47, 5-58, 6-71, 7-104, 8-105, 9-110, 10-110.Bowling
A Dinda 3-0-18-1
I Sharma 3-1-9-1
A Agarkar 2-0-19-2
M Kartik 3.4-0-17-3
Mohammad Hafeez 4-0-8-1
D Hussey 3-0-35-1 Kolkata Knight Riders innings
W Saha c Styris b Vaas 10 (17)
B McCullum c Sharma b Singh 5 (5)
R Ponting lbw b Vaas 0 (1)
S Ganguly b Ojha 14 (30)
D Hussey not out 38 (43)
Mohammad Hafeez c Symonds b Ojha 13 (13)
L Shukla not out 4 (6)
Extras  28
Total (19 overs) 5 wkts for 112 Fall of wickets: 1-6, 2-16, 3-21, 4-68, 5-88.Bowling
C Vaas 3-0-9-2
R Singh 3-0-15-1
S Styris 4-0-19-0
S Bangar 3-0-19-0
A Symonds 2-0-20-0
P Ojha 4-0-18-2Result: Kolkata Knight Riders won by  5 wickets

Editor: Nishanth Gopinathan.