Kolkata Knight Riders v Mumbai Indians at Kolkata Indian Premier League 2008

latest cricket

World T20, 2nd Semi-Final

India vs West Indies

at Mumbai, Mar 31, 2016
West Indies 196/3 beat India 192/2 by 7 wickets

Indian Premier League - IPL

Kolkata Knight Riders v Mumbai Indians at Kolkata

KKR v MI, IPL Match 16, Kolkata: Mumbai Indians ease to seven-wicket win

Dwayne Bravo hit a 42-ball fifty, helping Mumbai Indians beat Kolkata Knight Riders by 7 wickets for their first win in the Indian Premier League.
Earlier, a disciplined bowling performance from Mumbai Indians saw Kolkata Knight Riders restricted to a score of 137 runs for the loss of eight wickets.
All-rounder Laxmi Ratan Shukla's unbeaten 40 off 22 balls and debutant Debabrata Das' 29 off 20 balls ensured a respectable score for the hosts. Chasing the modest target, Bravo did not lose nerves despite his team losing three losing three quick wickets inside the first four overs and made the run chase look easy. Just when it seemed that Kolkata team had gained the upper hand, Bravo along with Robin Uthappa (37 off 37 balls) nullified any such advantage and scripted the first win for Mumbai Indians.
Bravo's innings of was the highest score for Team Mumbai. Earlier, Mumbai team bowled well and made the most out of the bounce offered by Eden Gardens track. Stand in captain Pollock, Dwayne Bravo and Jayasuriya came to the party. Jayasuriya (4 overs, 3 wkts, 1 maiden, 14 runs, 2 catches, one run-out too) bowled as well as he did in 1996 World Cup semis.
Jayasuriya had David Hussey and Ajit Agarkar caught by Ashish Nehra at long-on in identical fashion. Between those two dismissals, he also removed Mohammad Hafeez while Ponting was run out as Kolkata slipped from 74-3 in the 12th over to 77-6 in the 14th and then to 90-7 by the 16th over. Shukla then produced a blitzkrieg in which he dispatched the ball to all parts of the ground, much to the excitement of a packed house.
KKR v MI, IPL Match 16, Kolkata: Mumbai Indians 138 for 3 in 18.4 ovs beat Kolkata Knight Riders 137 for 8 in 20.0 ovs by 7 wickets

Kolkata Knight Riders v Mumbai Indians at Kolkata


Toss: Kolkata  Knight Riders.Kolkata Knight Riders innings
B McCullum lbw b Pollock 1 (2)
S Ganguly c Jayasuriya b Pollock 4 (2)
R Ponting run out (Rahane/Jayasuriya) 19 (31)
D Das c Uthappa b Bravo 29 (20)
D Hussey c Nehra b Jayasuriya 17 (20)
Mohammad Hafeez c Shah b Jayasuriya 2 (6)
L Shukla not out 40 (22)
A Agarkar c Nehra b Jayasuriya 2 (6)
M Kartik c Jayasuriya b Fernando 10 (11)
I Sharma not out 0 (0)
Extras 13
Total (20 overs) 8 wkts for 137 Fall of wickets: 1-5, 2-6, 3-40, 4-74, 5-77, 6-77, 7-90, 8-131.Bowling 
S Pollock 4-0-27-2
A Nehra 1-0-9 0
D Fernando 4-0-41-1
D Kulkarni 3-0-15-0
D Bravo 4-0-25-1
S Jayasuriya 4-1-14-3 Mumbai Indians innings
A Rahane c Hussey b Agarkar 4 (10)
S Jayasuriya b Sharma 18 (10)
M Pandey b Dinda 0 (3)
R Uthappa not out 37 (37)
D Bravo not out 64 (53)
Extras 15
Total (18.4 overs) 3 wkts for 138 Fall of wickets: 1-16, 2-25, 3-25.Bowling
A Agarkar 4-0-23-1
I Sharma 3.4-0-33-1
A Dinda 4-0-12-1
M Kartik 3-0-24-0
Mohammad Hafeez 1-0-16-0
S Ganguly 2-0-14-0
L Shukla 1-0-11-0 Result: Mumbai Indians won by 7 wickets.

Editor: Nishanth Gopinathan.