Delhi Daredevils vs Kings XI Punjab

latest cricket

World T20, 2nd Semi-Final

India vs West Indies

at Mumbai, Mar 31, 2016
West Indies 196/3 beat India 192/2 by 7 wickets

Indian Premier League - IPL

Delhi Daredevils vs Kings XI Punjab

KXP v DD, IPL Match 13, Mohali: Katich, Yuvraj star in Kings XI Punjab's win

Brilliant knocks by Simon Katich and captain Yuvraj Singh helped Kings XI Punjab snatch an exciting four-wicket verdict with three balls to spare against Delhi Daredevils.
It was Kings XI Punjab's second triumph in the three encounters they have played so far. Delhi Daredevils, who were on the winning streak by winning both their earlier matches before coming to Mohali, suffered their first defeat.
Chasing a victory target of 159, Kings XI Punjab completed their task by scoring 162 for 6 in 19.3 overs. The winning stroke was hit by Yuvraj Singh who dispatched Shoaib Malik for boundary.
Earlier, Delhi Daredevils won the toss and elected to bat first. At one stage, they were struggling at 88 for 5 after 11.6 overs. It looked as if it would be low-scoring game. However, Manoj Tiwary played a defiant knock of 39 off 34 balls during his 52-minute vigil at the wicket. Executing his strokes with confidence, Tiwary notched up six hits to the fence.
KXP v DD, IPL Match 13, Mohali: Kings XI Punjab 162 for 6 in 19.3 ovs beat Delhi Daredevils 158 for 8 in 20.0 ovs by 4 wickets

KXP v DD, IPL Match 13, Mohali: Kings XI Punjab take on Delhi Daredevils

Having tasted first victory in the tournament, hosts Kings XI Punjab would like to carry forward the momentum when they take on formidable Delhi Daredevils in their Indian Premier League clash at Mohali on Sunday.
The unsavoury incident, involving Harbhajan Singh and hosts paceman S Sreesanth on Friday night, is likely to occupy the minds of Punjab team's players especially the fast bowler himself and skipper Yuvraj Singh.
However, they have to shrug off the whole controversy to put up a good show against the Virender Sehwag-led team, which has a clean record in the tournament, with two wins, so far. The trio of Glenn McGrath, Mohammed Asif and Daniel Vettori makes the visitors bowling b and the Punjab batsmen will have to bring their best to negotiate the attack. Hosts too rely heavily on their bowlers for a good show with their batsmen showing individual brilliance rather than clicking together.
Australian paceman Brett Lee together with Irfan Pathan and spinner Piyush Chawla are getting better as the tournament is moving forward. The batsmen from the Delhi team have so far got little opportunity to showcase their skills as openers -- Sehwag and Gautam Gambhir -- dominated the run chase in both their nine-wicket wins.
If Brett Lee and Co performed like they did against Mumbai Indians on Friday, Delhi's middle order will definitely be tested. Daredevils team (from): Virender Sehwag (Captain), Rajat Bhatia, AB de Villiers, Shikhar Dhawan, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Gautam Gambhir, Brett Geeves, Dinesh Karthik, Glenn McGrath, Farveez Maharoof, Yo Mahesh, Mithun Manhas, Amit Mishra, Mohammad Asif, Yogesh Nagar, Pradeep Sangwan, Shoaib Malik, Mayank Tehlan, Manoj Tiwary, Daniel Vettori.
Kings XI Punjab team (from): Yuvraj Singh (Captain), Ajitesh Argal, Piyush Chawla, Pankaj Dharmani , Rishi Dhawan, Karan Goel, James Hopes, Mahela Jayawardene, Simon Katich, Uday Kaul, Sahil Kukreja, Brett Lee, Shaun Marsh, Kyle Mills, Wilkin Mota, Irfan Pathan, Luke Pomersbach, Ramesh Powar, Nitin Saini, Kumar Sangakkara, Ramnaresh Sarwan, Vikram Singh, Sunny Sohal S Sreesanth, Tanmay Srivastava.

Delhi Daredevils vs Kings XI Punjab


Toss: Delhi Daredevils.Delhi Daredevils innings
G Gambhir c Yuvraj Singh b Singh 18 (14)
V Sehwag lbw b Pathan 6 (6)
S Dhawan c Sangakkara b Lee 0 (3)
Shoaib Malik c Lee b Singh 19 (17)
M Tiwary c Yuvraj Singh b Singh 39 (34)
D Karthik b Yuvraj Singh 24 (14)
R Bhatia b Pathan 17 (15)
F Maharoof run out (Jayawardene/Sangakkara) 18 (12)
V Mahesh not out 6 (5)
Extras  11
Total (20 overs) 8 wkts for 158 Fall of wickets: 1-11, 2-12, 3-45, 4-54, 5-88, 6-125, 7-139, 8-158.Bowling
B Lee 4-0-33-1
I Pathan 4-0-26-2
S Sreesanth 2-0-25-0
V Singh 4-0-29-3
P Chawla 4-0-29-0
Yuvraj Singh 2-0-11-1 Kings XI Punjab innings
K Goel lbw b McGrath 1 (3)
S Katich run out (Sehwag/Bhatia) 75 (52)
K Sangakkara c Karthik b Mohammad Asif 4 (2)
M Jayawardene c & b Shoaib Malik 15 (14)
Yuvraj Singh not out 40 (29)
T Srivastava c Karthik b Mahesh 7 (9)
I Pathan c Karthik b Mohammad Asif 10 (7)
B Lee not out 1 (3)
Extras 9
Total (19.3 overs) 6 wkts for 162 Fall of wickets: 1-2, 2-11, 3-69, 4-119, 5-141, 6-155.Bowling
G McGrath 4-0-29-1
Mohammad Asif 4-0-39-2
F Maharoof 3-0-31-0
V Mahesh 4-0-23-1
Shoaib Malik 3.3-0-32-1
R Bhatia 1-0-5-0Result:  King's XI Punjab won by 4 wickets 

Editor: Nishanth Gopinathan.