Mumbai Indians v Deccan Chargers at Mumbai Indian Premier League 2008

latest cricket

World T20, 2nd Semi-Final

India vs West Indies

at Mumbai, Mar 31, 2016
West Indies 196/3 beat India 192/2 by 7 wickets

Indian Premier League - IPL

Mumbai Indians v Deccan Chargers

MI v DC, IPL Match 14, Mumbai: Gilchrist destroys Mumbai Indians with fastest IPL hundred

Adam Gilchrist slammed 10 sixes and nine fours in a cavalier unbeaten knock of 109 to power Deccan Chargers of Hyderabad to a comprehensive 10-wicket victory over Mumbai Indians to break their duck in their Indian Premier League at Mumbai on Sunday
The left-handed Gilchrist looked in splendid form and carted the bowlers all around the park to delight the capacity crowd of 55,000 at the D Y Patil Stadium while powering his way to a record-setting 42-ball 100. He remained unbeaten after facing 47 balls, to hold complete sway over the home attack that looked clueless on how to stop the rampage.
At the other end was captain V V S Laxman, with an attractive 37 not out as the duo piloted their team to their first win in four ties. Deccan Chargers achieved the target of 155 without any loss in only 12 overs.
The blitzkrieg by the retired Australian wicketkeeper-batsman, who bettered his compatriot and teammate Andrew Symonds' 47-ball hundred against Rajasthan Royals, made short work of the target and helped the Hyderabad team break its victory drought after three straight losses. Gilchrist took full advantage of a wayward spell from Ashish Nehra and got into the groove with customary lan, later slamming all the bowlers with splendid pull and cut shots.
After belting discarded left-arm pacer Nehra, Gilchrist punished Shaun Pollock, who led the home team, by whipping the former South African all-rounder for three sixes and a four in the latter's second spell. The 50 was raised in 31 balls and Gilchrist, whose previous highest for the Hyderabad franchise team was 23, reached his own in spectacular style by carting Pollock for a six over long leg.
He then raced to his second 50 in only 14 balls by carting Abhishek Nayar for three sixes in an over and then continued in the same vein to pilot his team to a resounding victory and hand the hosts their fourth defeat in as many ties. At the other end, Laxman was all wristy elegance and the duo helped seal an easy victory, their first after three defeats, for their side.
Earlier, Mumbai Indians put up yet another poor batting display and were restricted to a meagre 154 for seven.
MI v DC, IPL Match 14, Mumbai: Deccan Chargers 155 for 0 in 12.4 ovs beat Mumbai Indians 154 for 7 in 20.0 ovs by 10 wickets

MI v DC, IPL Match 14, Mumbai: Mumbai Indians take on Deccan Chargers today

With stand-in captain Harbhajan Singh in fresh controversy and a big question mark still on Sachin Tendulkar’s availability, winless Mumbai Indians will be under tremendous pressure against Deccan Chargers of Hyderabad in their Indian Premier League encounter at Mumbai on Sunday.
In batting, the Mumbai top-order led by Sanath Jayasuriya has failed to fire and this has put enormous pressure on the team’s bottom half. With Deccan Chargers also losing their three outings, both teams would be eager to kick-start their tepid campaign under lights at the state-of-the-art stadium in the satellite township of Navi Mumbai, just across the harbour.
Hyderabad are struggling to gel as a team with retired Australian great Adam Gilchrist yet to provide value for money. V.V.S. Laxman has also not yet shown that the national selectors were wrong in repeatedly ignoring his claims in the shorter forms of the game. Mumbai Indians team (from): Sachin Tendulkar, Loots Bosman, Ankeet Chavan, Siddharth Chitnis, Gaurav Dhiman, Dilhara Fernando, Harbhajan Singh, Sanath Jayasuriya, Musavir Khote, Dhawal Kulkarni, Lasith Malinga Abhishek Nayar, Ashish Nehra, Manish Pandey, Rajesh Pawar, Shaun Pollock, Ashwell Prince, Ajinkya Rahane, Rohan Raje, Luke Ronchi, Pinal Shah, Swapnil Singh, Yogesh Vijay Takawale, Dominic Thornely, Saurabh Tiwary, Robin Uthappa, Vikrant Yeligati.
Deccan Chargers team (from): VVS Laxman, Sanjay Bangar, Halhadar Das, Herschelle Gibbs, Adam Gilchrist, Doddapaneni Kalyankrishna, Pragyan Ojha, Dwaraka Ravi Teja, Sarvesh Kumar, Shahid Afridi, Rohit Sharma, Chamara Silva, RP Singh, Scott Styris, Andrew Symonds, Chaminda Vaas, Venugopal Rao, Paidikalva Vijaykumar, Arjun Yadav, Nuwan Zoysa.

Mumbai Indians v Deccan Chargers


Toss: Deccan Chargers.Mumbai Indians innings
L Ronchi c Laxman b Singh 13 (11)
S Jayasuriya c Sharma b Shahid Afridi 18 (21)
A Rahane c Ojha b Bangar 0 (7)
R Uthappa c Gilchrist b Shahid Afridi 6 (5)
S Pollock b Bangar 31 (31)
A Nayar c Gilchrist b Zoysa 34 (19)
D Bravo c Ojha b Singh 34 (18)
M Khote not out 7 (10)
Extras  11
Total (20 overs) 7 wkts for 154  Fall of wickets: 1-15, 2-18, 3-27, 4-55, 5-79, 6-122, 7-154.Bowling
RP Singh 4-1-15-2
D Zoysa 4-0-30-1
S Bangar 4-0-34-2
Shahid Afridi 4-0-32-2
P Ojha 2-0-14-0
D Kalyankrishna 2-0-23-0Deccan Chargers innings
A Gilchrist not out 109 (48) 
VVS Laxman not out 36 (29)
Extras 10
Total (12.4 overs) 0 wkts for 155 Bowling
A Nehra 2-0-19-0
SM Pollock 2-0-33-0
D Kulkarni 1-0-8-0
ST Jayasuriya 2-0-17-0
S Chitnis 2-0-20-0
D Bravo 2.4-0-30-0
A Nayar 1-0-22-0Result: Deccan Chargers  won by 10 wickets.

Editor: Nishanth Gopinathan.