Sahara Pune Warriors India

latest cricket

ICC Champions Trophy 2017

India vs Pakistan FINAL

Sunday 18 June 17 @ The Oval
Match scheduled to begin at 10:30 local time (09:30 GMT)

Indian Premier League - IPL

Sahara Pune Warriors India

Sourav Ganguly Pune Warriors India is a franchise cricket team that plays in the Indian Premier League (IPL) representing the city of Pune, Maharashtra. The team was one of two new franchisees added to the Indian Premier League (IPL) for the 2011 season, alongside the Kochi Tuskers Kerala.

IPL Franchises & Key Players

Delhi Daredevils (V Sehwag) | Chennai Super Kings (MS Dhoni) | Bangalore Royal Challengers (K Pieterson) | Deccan Chargers (Adam Gilchrist) | Kings XI Punjab (Y Singh) | Rajasthan Royals (S Warne) | Mumbai Indians (S Tendulkar) | Kolkata Knight Riders (B McCullam)

Franchise history

On 21 March 2010, Sahara Adventure Sports Limited made the winning bid of $370 million (approximately Rs 1700 crore) for the Pune franchise. The bid is the highest bid by any company in the short history of IPL.

Pune Warriors Players

Sourav Ganguly, former Indian captain, will lead Pune Warriors India in IPL 2012 Season 5. Sourav Ganguly will also the mentor and coach of Pune IPL team and he will be assisted by Dermot Reeve, bowling coach Allan Donald, Batting coach Praveen Amre and fitness trainer Steve Smith. Deep Dasgupta is the head of operation in Pune Warriors India. Pune Warriors India Roster
The team signed players like Steve Smith, James Hopes, Marlon Samuels, Luke Wright and Indian players like Raiphi Gomez, Ashok Dinda, Mahesh Rawat and Ali Murtaza. The team’s brand value is estimated at $US 350 million. Players like Robin Uthappa, Graeme Smith, Manish Pandey, Wayne Parnell and Jesse Ryder will we part of the squad in season 5. Former South African ace, Allan Donald will offer his services as bowling coach.

Editor: Nishanth Gopinathan.