National Elite League Twenty20

latest cricket

World T20, 2nd Semi-Final

India vs West Indies

at Mumbai, Mar 31, 2016
West Indies 196/3 beat India 192/2 by 7 wickets

National Elite League Twenty20

National Elite League Twenty20

National Elite League Twenty20 is a Twenty 20 domestic Cricket competition in Kenya held by Cricket Kenya. It is a part of the Sahara Elite League program. The Sahara Elite League (also known as Zonal League) is a four team cricket competition created by Cricket Kenya featuring a Twenty20 tournament, a one day cricket tournament and finally a first class cricket tournament. For the inaugural league four teams will be competing consisting of the 60 best players according to Cricket Kenya from Kenya.
The first edition of the competition involved four franchises, namely The Northern Nomads, The Eastern Aces,The Southern Stars, and The Western Chiefs. The teams were captained by National team players, Steve Tikolo, Thomas Odoyo, Kennedy Obuya, and Peter Ongondo 2008. The inaugural T20 Competition, played in February 2008, was won by the Eastern Aces, The league is sponsored by South African Sahara Computers, African Cricket Association and others in 2008.


The Eastern Aces captained by Steve Tikolo
The Northern Nomads captained by Thomas Odoyo
The Western Chiefs captained by Peter Ongondo
The Southern Stars captained by Kennedy Otieno

Cricket Kenya

Cricket Kenya is the official ICC recognised organisation chosen to represent Kenya in terms of cricket issues. They are in charge of overseeing the Kenyan Cricket Team. The current coach is Andy Kirsten. Recently Cricket Kenya organized a four team elite tournament that includes a T20 Tournament, a 50 Over competition and a first class competition namely the Sahara Elite League. Cricket Kenya organizes the Kenya national cricket team and conducts the international matches with the team.

National Elite League Twenty20


Editor: Nishanth Gopinathan.