Twenty20 Cup

latest cricket

World T20, 2nd Semi-Final

India vs West Indies

at Mumbai, Mar 31, 2016
West Indies 196/3 beat India 192/2 by 7 wickets

Twenty20 Cup

Twenty20 Cup

The Twenty20 Cup is a cricket competition for English and Welsh county clubs.
When the Benson And Hedges Cup ended in 2002, the England and Wales Cricket Board needed another one day competition to fill its place. The cricketing authorities were looking to boost the games popularity with the younger generation in response to dwindelling crowds and reduced sponsorship. It was intended to deliver fast paced, exciting cricket accessible to thousands of fans who were put off by the longer versions of the game. The first Twenty20 Cup was held in 2003 and was marketed with the slogan “I don’t like cricket, I love it”. It was won by the Surrey Lions.

Twenty20 Cup Teams

Northern Division

Derbyshire Phantoms
Durham Dynamos
Leicestershire Foxes
Lancashire Lightning
Nottinghamshire Outlaws
Yorkshire Carnegie

Southern Division

Essex Eagles
Hampshire Hawks
Kent Spitfires
Middlesex Crusaders
Surrey Brown Caps
Sussex Sharks

Mid / West / Wales Division

Glamorgan Dragons
Gloucestershire Gladiators
Northamptonshire Steelbacks
Somerset Sabres
Warwickshire Bears
Worcestershire Royals

Editor: Nishanth Gopinathan.